Home » Random » Push The Button: The Review

Push The Button: The Review

image

Jones, Feminista. (2014) Push The Button. 124pp.

The genre of erotica is usually not my first choice but I will indulge every now and then when something appears to be worth my time. Push The Button is the story of a BDSM (bondage discipline sadism masochism)couple: thirty-something, professional, and African-American. There are many topics that are taboo in the African-American community and a professional couple in this “Life” falls under the taboo tab. So, when I read the synopsis I said, “oooo, something different…” I have to admit I did not know much about the BDSM lifestyle other than glimpses of it from television and/ or movies and most of it showed Caucasian people so, like with so many other media images, I thought that’s not for “us.” Well, this book was written to teach me and others like me a little something. The story started as a blog series that the author made into a book after getting feedback from her audience. I did read the first installment online, now the first chapter of the book, which piqued my interest so naturally I wanted to read more. This book was a quick read with a few dense scenes, mainly the sex scenes. The sex scenes were different for me and described in a way that was arousing but not raunchy. I did appreciate the author’s descriptions. When I purchased the book I had expectations. I thought the book would be about “The Life” but it appeared to be more about the couple that just so happened to be in “The Life.” It touched on the BDSM lifestyle, the rules, the conventions, the roles but focused on this couple who had a lot of other stuff going on. The author did her job in that she wanted to show that everyday people were into kink and that you’d never know who you may bump into at convention or in an online community chat room. This was a quick but intense journey. I was left with many questions but I think that says more about inquisitive me than the author. The ending was something that I could have done without but the individual reader would have to decide.

Overall, this introduction into BDSM in the African American community was very entertaining and informative. The author did an excellent job of pointing out the difference between healthy, consentual Dominant/submissive relationships and abusive ones. This, in fact, was a major highlight for me as an outsider to know that this life is not full of abused women with self esteem issues.

My next writing piece will be very personal, exploring my own “limits” in the context of what I have just learned through Push The Button. Pick up your own copy and let us know what you think about the book and about your own “limits” in the comment section below.

Thanks for stopping by and happy reading!

Leave a Reply

