Home » #ROW80 » Halloween (ROW80 update)

Halloween (ROW80 update)

I am not fond of this time of year. When people pretend to be something or someone they are not and purposely attempt to scare you or do things that would scare themselves. It does not make sense to me. And where does the candy come in? Yes, I can Google the origin of Halloween but that would be unnecessary because my increased knowledge will not stop massive amounts of people from painting their faces to look like zombies and attempting to scare away my ability to sleep comfortably at night.

My friend wants to go out tomorrow. She would like to dress up but she said she’s okay with just hanging out as if it’s a regular Thursday evening. Everyone doesn’t participate in Halloween, she says. I know that but there are more people that do participate than do not. Or it may seem that way because most of the people that participate are out on the streets and in the bars for the Halloween parties. And those who do not participate are mostly likely in the comfort of their own homes.

People use celebrations such as Halloween as an excuse to do dumb, crazy stuff and to commit crimes. People disguise their identities and attempt to kidnap or assault or steal from other people. I worry about the children. Why is it that every year parents are reminded to check their children’s candy? OH…..because in the past people have done dumb, crazy stuff like make illegal, harmful drugs look like candy and give it to innocent six year olds dressed like the blue Power Ranger. Or they have put poison in the candy or have done any number of equally dumb things to the candy that is given to children.

Then there is the actual candy portion of the program. Why are we giving our children candy? We are the most unhealthiest country on the planet and we are promoting more unhealthy habits. I could understand having a sweet treat once in a while if most of the time we were promoting healthy living, if our children were not obese. But that’s not the case.

Then, the act of taking candy from strangers is hypocritical because that’s one of the first things we teach our children not to do. Why do we teach our children not to accept candy from strangers? Because people do dumb, crazy stuff and we want to protect our children right? But, on Halloween we display them for the crazies? It does not make sense to me.

I do not like Halloween. I choose not to participate. I do not need my nerves to come undone because I purposely put myself in a position to be on edge, jumpy, and possibly afraid. And I am not nearly as afraid of what someone may do to me or attempt to do to me as I am of what I may do to another person in protection of my life, my safety, or that of my family. Why would I go to a haunted anything (house, asylum, hayride, corn field) to pay for someone dressed like Jason to startle me, leading to their assault (because my natural reaction leans toward fight before flight)? No, that does not make sense to me. Why would I parade my kid around (if I had a kid that wanted to dress up for Halloween) in front of people who purposely try to do them harm? Nope. I do not want any parts of it.

If people want to share and build community and have a good, safe time with one another then there are better ways to do it then behind a disguise.

I may have gone off on a bit of a rant but I state all of the above to state firmly that I will not be participating in tomorrow’s festivities.

I will, however, take the time to prepare for NaNoWriMo. Yes, I have decided (at the last minute) to participate in the National Novel Writing Month writing challenge where the goal is to complete a novel, 50,000 words or more, in 30 days. I plan to complete my book of short stories tentatively titled, Philadelphia Stories.

So, my updated goals for the month of November are to write at least 1,667 words every day for 30 days and to complete my Philadelphia stories. I am not sure where anything else will fit in but I will attempt to post my progress. Even if its a two line blurb on twitter (@wordsXdesign) to update.

Happy Writing! And please be safe out there.

Leave a Reply

