Home » #ROW80 » So, here goes…

So, here goes…

images (19)It’s 11:02pm and I’m working on my goal to write at least 30 uninterrupted minutes per day. I had to wait until 11pm to get uninterrupted minutes. This goal is going to …make me stronger. Right now, I’m just writing what comes to mind in the hopes of not only creating a habit but also to produce something worthy of sharing with others.  Throughout the day, I’d been trying to come up with things to write about. I thought of blog post topics, thought maybe I’d finish my post about friendships because I got some insight into a friendship gone south and it seemed interesting to flesh out. Then I thought about finishing a response to a magazine article that got under my skin a little. I did neither. As you can see, you are not reading a response to an article or a post about friendships. I logged on to the social networks that I frequent to try to get inspiration (shut up! that’s my story and I’m sticking to it.) and was reminded that April is National Poetry Month. I thought about trying to participate in the monthly writing challenges that are going on this month but it would not have worked well for me. I hate writing crappy poetry. I know the saying, “practice makes perfect,” but I can’t just write a poem for writing’s sake.  I mean, I can… I just do not enjoy it. I usually wait for the words to spill from my gut. That happens less and less frequently now. I am not sure why. Maybe because of lingering emotional trauma. But isn’t the emotional stuff what usually sparks those awesome words? Eh. Anyway, no poems this evening. I’m barely pulling this post off. I still have twelve minutes to type and my eyes are getting so heavy. Not long after I got home from work, I found myself dealing with potty training issues. The question that popped in my head: How did I get here? I mean, my son has been wiping his own ass since ’95. But I digress.  I have so much going on right now. I really wanted to work on my D. Church story but I am having the most difficult of times getting back into his world. (And I’m struggling to stay awake. I just drifted off for the last two minutes.) Where was I? Oh, D. Church… yeah, I’m having a problems getting back into his world so I think I’m going to re-read my first few pages that I’ve already written then I’ll hop off the train with him when he gets to Philly and start there. Sounds like a plan. I have to go now. My mind is mush. Tomorrow, I will write earlier in the day. 11:32pm.

3 thoughts on “So, here goes…

  1. Ooh, Janeen! You sound so much like me lately (my Sunday post reads frightfully similarly).

    The only cure I’ve found? Write about the stuff I don’t feel “inspired” to write about anyway. Those crappy poems you dread writing? Write them–keep them and fix them or toss them afterward, but write them. Don’t wait for the inspiration. Make the inspiration. Try working in a new format for the poem, but write it. They’ll start coming back to you because they sense your willingness to work with them.

    As for the 30 minutes to write… hmm, don’t know when that actually happens. Maybe instead of tiring yourself out trying to “get the perfect time”, set aside 15 minutes in the morning and then 15 in the evening. Oddly enough, the less time you have to write, the more you tend to write…maybe because it feels so precious?

    I wish you luck in breaking through the block…though luck will have nothing to do with it. You’ll have to write.

    Like

Leave a Reply

