Home » Uncategorized » Thank you

Thank you

“Thank you for being a friend, travelled down the road and back again. Your heart is true you’re a pal and a confidente. If you threw a party and invited everyone ya knew, you would see the biggest gift would be from me and the card attached would say ‘thank you for being a friend’.” -theme song from The Golden Girls

I love my friends! I’ve known most of them for 20-25 years. They’ve become family. Even the friends I’ve met in recent years, virtually and in real life, have become like family. They know I’m emotional and flighty and, ummm, strong-willed, to put it lightly. And they love me anyway. I appreciate each and every person that has been placed in my life, whether it’s been ten years or ten minutes. But the people who stick around just for the smiles, the word love is not big enough for you. Those people who are, what I consider a friend, some of whom have morphed into family- I appreciate you. I understand that life gets in the way sometimes but I’m just a phone call away. And thanks to social media, I’m also just a click away. I have people in my life that I may not talk to in years but when we get together its like no time had passed. I just want to take a moment to say thank you. Thank you for being a part of my life. Thank you for allowing me to be a part of yours.

I am so sad that I lost friends. At times, tears stream down my face before I realize I’m crying. Their lives cut short. It makes you think about your own mortality. I can say what I want done or not done once I pass, but the reality is I’ll have control over nothing. I just pray that people remember the smiles, the laughter, the fun, the joy that we’ve brought to one another while we had the chance. Everyday that you are topside (as opposed to six feet under) is another opportunity to be a better you, an opportunity to improve yourself and, in turn, improve your relationships.

I was called an idealist. I’m good with that. I just want everyone to be okay. I can’t see how thats a bad thing.

Love ya’ll.

Leave a Reply

