Home » #ROW80 » How do they do it? (A ROW80 Check in)

How do they do it? (A ROW80 Check in)

Netflix is the devil. And toddlers are his spawn.

Okay. Not really. I tried to blame my lack of productivity on everything and everyone except me.

I think I suffer from A.D.D.

This week, I got severely sidetracked by old seasons of Grey’s Anatomy. They’re all on Netflix. Did you know that?! They’re just right there. On demand. And they’re so good, I could hardly turn away.

Enter the toddler: She cute. She’s playful. She’s needy. And she’s here every other week.

Needless to say, I did not meet my goal this week.

My goal is simple: Write everyday, a minimum of 250 words per day.

I did get some writing in this week but I did not write everyday. Here’s a snapshot:
Monday – 25 words
Wednesday – 78 words (and no ROW80 check in)
Friday – 130 words
Saturday – 1382 words

My weekly word count so far is 1615 words. That’s pretty good given my weekly minimum word count is 1750 words.
My week is Monday – Sunday so I still have today to add to the weekly total. However, my focus is not only to complete my project and meet my word count but also get into the habit of writing daily. I clearly have to re-evaluate some things and pull my own reigns in tighter during “toddler week.”

I also have only been to the gym three days this week. I am feeling bad about missing my workouts but I’ve been working hard not to beat myself up about it and/or fall back into my old habits: horrible foods and zero exercise.

I thought about this all week: How do parents of multiples and/or toddlers get any writing completed? She wants all of my attention (even when others are around) and I have to participate in every activity with her. Where’s the independence? (LOL. Joking.) Remember, my son will be 21 years old in March. So I’m waaaaay past this stage.

I know what I’ll do during the weeks she isn’t here. I’ll write everyday. But I have not figured out how to tweak my schedule during the weeks she is here.

Any suggestions? I have a week to get it together….

Look at this face. This is what I’m up against.

14 thoughts on “How do they do it? (A ROW80 Check in)

  1. Oh my gosh she’s adorable! I can see why it is difficult for you to be productive. 🙂 Three days a week to the gym is a great start, I’ve not been to the gym more than three times since January 1st. Keep up the progress… you’re doing great!

    Like

    • Thank you! I didn’t make it to the gym today but I did my workout video at home (I call them body-like-a-latin-dancer DVDs) and it was great! She was trying to workout too. It was so cute. Thanks for the encouragement…. I need a little every now and then. 🙂

      Like

  2. I have a 6 month old and 2 year old here ALL the time. My secret: teeny tiny goals. I try to write 30 minutes a day (or more) and I do it after they go to bed. That is not my ideal time to write, but I take it. Then I read in bed until about midnight- then I stumble out of bed like a zombie at 7. Repeat.

    It’s hard. I have to set realistic goals and remember that they’re not going to be little forever.

    Good luck next week! Watching t.v. shows is like research, so don’t beat yourself up. 🙂

    Like

  3. Can you write during naps? That used to be my only down time when the wee beasties were little. These days I get up dark & early, about an hour before everyone else. They’re only little for such a short time, soak it up 🙂 Maybe you can focus on writing up two weeks of blog posts the weeks she’s with you and your WIP the weeks she’s not?

    Wishing you all the best this week!

    Like

  4. I remember the toddler days. Its tough… and somehow, we do it. I have learned to write in really tiny snippets and to always have a notebook handy to scribble stuff down even when I am away from the keyboard. I learned haiku. Perfect for a mom chasing a toddler around.

    (She is adorable by the way!)

    I also taught my kids that Mommy writes. I would write early in the morning and when they got up, they would just sit beside me and wait until I acknowledged them, usually no longer than 15 or 20 minutes. I didn’t ever yell or scream, I just sat and wrote and they “got” it.

    Now that they are older, it isn’t any easier much of the time but oh, do I love them!

    Like

  5. First off, I’ve got to echo the others and say WHAT A CUTE BABY! I could just eat that cutie pie up. 🙂

    I can only tell you what I do (and I have an active toddler):

    – First thing in the AM, check blogs and set up tweets for the day
    – Lunch, comments and check-in
    – Throughout the day, catch up via phone whenever she’s engrossed in Elmo or playing
    – Evenings are for family
    – I write after she goes to bed

    I don’t know if that helps you, but that’s the only way I get everything done. Move the writing time for you to whenever you’re most creative.

    Like

  6. I have a 4 year old(in pre-k half a day) and a very very very active 16 month old. I set my alarm for 4:45 during the week so I can be at the computer with my coffee by 5. when my daughter has school, she’s up by 6, so that gives me about an hour to write. I try to stay off the internet during that time so I don’t get distracted. Sometimes I will get some more writing done while she eats her breakfast. The next chance I get to write is after lunch, but I get the best writing done in the morning, so that’s when I try to get most of it done.

    Like

  7. Our kids are our best distractions… When my son was a toddler, I thought I’d never get another word in (and a lot of days I didn’t), but something kind of cool actually came out of typing (and writing) whenever I could. My son wanted to “learn to write like Mommy”, and now he reads at a fourth grade level, he writes full sentences and makes his own stories (he will be six in March and almost did his own NaNoWriMo this past year, but changed his mind and did a picture book). Our kids follow our examples….so it’s extra cool that you are dancing/exercising to videos with her. What a great idea! Fun, exercise and quality connection time….

    Like

  8. Pingback: A Shorty on Sunday (A ROW80 Update) | wordsbydesign

Leave a Reply

