Home » #ROW80 » I’m still here

I’m still here

*sigh*

Where do I start? It has been a rough week.

I did not get to attend the memorial for my friend because I was sick with a stomach virus all week. I felt better by Thursday though and was able to attend the funeral. I must be psychic or something because that anxiety attack hit me just as I called it… right in front of the church! My sister was there to help me through it though. I REALLY don’t grieve completely which is probably the reason for the anxiety around funerals.

Although, I was sick and had to attend the funeral of a close friend this week, I still managed to write.

There is power in words. Healing, helping, hurting, breaking down, and building up power. And I appreciate them.

I also appreciate the connections that I’ve made in this #ROW80 community. The kind words and encouragement have been awesome. Thank you.

My word count was not high but I was able to get through the scene that I struggled with. Instead of a full conversation I opted to use a flashback. Hope it works and makes the cut when its time to edit. I have to revise my goals and took writing three articles off of the list. I’ve added daily writing via 750words.com to my goals. I think that it’ll help with achieving my 2011 goal of completing at least one WIP by December 31, 2011. I realized something about myself this week. I realized that when I talk about my writing I get so excited. I surprised myself when I began talking to a friend of the family about my work. I usually don’t talk to anyone about my work other than my husband and right now its football season so we all know what that means! I’ve had bad experiences in the past with people attempting to take my ideas and words and pass them off as their own. But, as I spoke about my WIPs that I have waiting for me to finish, more ideas came to me and I couldn’t wait to get them down on paper. I know talking helps me, across the board, but it always comes down to an issue of trust. I’ll think more on this in the coming weeks.

For some reason, one particular phrase pops in my head every now and again: I’m still here. I think it’s my way of reminding myself that I need to live life to the fullest and not allow fear or other people’s actions or inactions deter me from making the best of the time that I have here. I love writing, creating. So, that’s what I’ll do.

Words are powerful.

So, how are you using your words today?

12 thoughts on “I’m still here

  1. Sounds like you have had another tough week and I am glad you found writing healing. There is something powerful about losing yourself in the words and I hope they are there for you this coming week.

    Like

  2. Congrats on your progress! I couldn’t agree more–there is power in words. I’ve been using my writing to let out little bits of myself that I have kept locked up tight. And surprisingly it has helped a great deal in my life with healing and especially with trust issues I have. I think it has also made my writing much more alive. I wrote a post on it shortly after starting my blog (the post on ‘vulnerability’). Letting myself be vulnerable in my writing has let me relax a little in other aspects of my life as well. Most importantly though, it has let me really enjoy and feel free when I do sit down and puts words to paper (or cursor to computer screen actually!) Good luck this upcoming week on your goals!

    Like

    • Thank you Alberta! You all are so wonderful. I am so grateful to be a part of this community. I know its a lil mushy but I’m serious when I say I’ve been passionate about writing for years with little to no support from the people that know me personally! But I get an abundance from you all! And I appreciate it. Truly.

      Like

  3. That’s an awful week, my condolences.

    Good to see you are able to keep writing. It’s good to have some kind of consistency when going through tough times.

    I’m trying to get back in the swing of my goals after a 3-day break to attend a wedding. And now the maintenance people are installing a new bathroom ceiling. Ah . . maybe I’ll start tomorrow.

    Like

  4. I just followed your post here from my guest post on Words From The Heart. It must have been a fated follow, because my post is on the Healing Power of Words, and I believe yours is too. Kindred souls, we are:-)
    I am so sorry about the loss of your friend, though I did enjoy your blog. Many cyber hugs and positive vibes coming your way.

    XO,
    Melissa

    Like

    • Thank you. I appreciate the hugs and positive vibes. I noticed on Twitter how you promote being nice to others and giving kind words. I like that. We need more of that in the world. Great thing for me that I found the #row80 community and Kait Nolan because there are plenty of kinds words among this group of people! I’m going to try to finish Megan’s Way this weekend. Thanks again!

      Like

Leave a Reply

