Home » #ROW80 » So many questions (Check in #2)

So many questions (Check in #2)

I really only have to make one statement and that alone should tell about my progress. YESTERDAY WAS MY BIRTHDAY. Yep. So, needless to say between Wednesday and today there hasn’t been too much writing accomplished. My mom threw some food on the grill today, a few people came over and….. PAR-TAY!

I have been thinking about my writing though. Tuesday and Wednesday of this week I re-read what I had written so far on two of my WIPs so I could jump back into the story line. My problem is I keep hitting the same road block. THIS IS WHERE I NEED SOME ADVICE. With one of the WIPs I hand wrote it in a notebook and transcribed it as I could. My notebook was accidentally thrown out before I could finish transcribing it. 😦 I get stuck because I can vaguely remember what I wrote and I don’t know if I should try to revisit it or just put the lost pages out of my mind and just write. I still get sad a little over the lost pages though. So, I need help. The other WIP has me stuck because one of the characters took over and he doesn’t seem to fit into the storyline any more. So my dilemma is this: Should I force him in or give him his own story independent of the original?

Oh, so many questions! I don’t want them to hinder my progress though.

Any suggestions?

9 thoughts on “So many questions (Check in #2)

  1. Hi There!

    Happy belated birthday! On the question of your wee dilemma, I will say that this has happened to me before. I’ve usually ended up trying to ignore the memory of what I scrawled down beforehand, and instead trying to just write something new. It’s really hard, especially if you have the echoes of the original handwritten pages in your head (and particularly if you are convinced that it was amazing and perfect and wonderful, which is what happens to me), but I’ve found that it’s better if I just write what I can and move on. What I’ve also realized is that I am likely to change things dramatically once I’ve finished the first draft and moved into ‘deep editing’ phase, so it’s easier if I’m not 100% attached to my work.

    Anyway, good luck moving through the writer’s block!

    Like

    • Thank you, JayJay!!!! (LOL! I give nicknames sometimes…) That’s my issue: I get soooo attached! While writing a funeral scene I almost started crying. I felt so bad for my MC. Thank you for the advice and for stopping by.

      Like

  2. Hey! I’m Vicki, one of the sponsors for ROW80. Your questions really resonate with me, so sorry in advance for the epic reply:
    “I get stuck because I can vaguely remember what I wrote and I don’t know if I should try to revisit it or just put the lost pages out of my mind and just write.”
    Oooh, tricky one. The ghosts of manuscripts past. This has happened to me a few times. Don’t do what I did- which was to let it keep me from writing at all!
    One idea would be to make an outline based on what you remember and go forward from there. It’s sad to lose that much of your writing. It’s like losing stuff in a fire, or having stories eaten by a computer crash (this actually happened when I finished my second book. Almost immediately after I pressed “send.” It was spooky.) But the critical part is going forward, however you have to do it.
    “…one of the characters took over and he doesn’t seem to fit into the storyline any more. So my dilemma is this: Should I force him in or give him his own story independent of the original?”
    One of the best characters I ever wrote dropped into my book out of nowhere. I was writing this scene where the main character had been captured by a group of desert rebels. He was looking for help for his dying princess whose mind was literally shredded after a psychic attack. Problem: captured, can’t help princess. I was stuck. So this guard, who didn’t even have a name when I started the scene, suddenly drops her weapon and just takes over. She’s actually the rebel leader disguised as a guard w/ “powers” of her own. And so the strongest, most kick-butt female character I’ve ever written literally dropped from the sky. She was not a part of the plan. But by the end of the book Kia was second in command of the planet or something.
    Sorry for rambling all over your blog. I have a character crush on her.
    Basically it boils down to your writing style. Some writers have to stick to their plan, no matter what, in which case it might be best to make notes @ where this character wants to go and work him into a different story. Or go with it and see what happens. Another idea is to share what you have with a critique partner or writer’s group member and see what they think after reading it. It’s a lot easier to give advice with the specifics in front of you.
    Here’s a link to a little video I find really useful:
    http://www.ted.com/talks/view/lang/eng//id/453
    And please feel free to drop by my blog or email w/ more questions. I’ve taught writing for 10 yrs and written 5 books (not all of them published thank god), and I’m happy to help. Again, sorry this is so epic!

    Like

    • Hi Vicki, sponsor for ROW80! I am fairly new to blogging so I get extremely excited when someone stops by to just look! I do not mind the epic at all- thank you! It seems like the consensus (so far) is kind of leaning towards letting go and moving on…. Often times, we have the answers to our own questions but just need the support to take that step so thank you both, Vicki & JayJay. I’m moving on! I love the community aspect of this writing challenge. And as for my ‘take over’ character… I’m going to let him take over and see where he wants to go. 😉

      Like

  3. 🙂 I have to watch that video periodically when I hit “The Wall;” don’t know why but it really helps me get my head on straight again. How’s that runaway character behaving? Keep us posted!

    Like

  4. Pingback: Who’s line is this? « wordsbydesign

Leave a Reply

